Back to All Events

The Australian Conceptual Photography prize 

 Opening Night and awards: Thursday 4 July 6:30 - 8:30pm

Exhibition Showing: 4 - 28 July

Australian Conceptual Photography Prize (ACPP) – 2019


The Australian Photographic Society is delighted to announce that the three judges (Denise Ferris, Anne O’Hehir and Roger Skinner) have chosen the top 39 images in the 2019 ACPP. The APS congratulates all the finalists:

Mieke Boynton, Judy Parker, Peter Solness x 3, Henry Lewis, Bill Ragan x 3, Gina Fynearts, Paul F Robinson, Tony Harding, Deb Gartland, Anne O’Connor, Robert Dettman x 2, Marisa Ho x 2, Linda K Y Wei x 2, Sue McLeod, Nola Sumner, Karen Childs, Anne Pappalardo, Dianne English, Mario Mirabile x 2, Duncan Cunningham-Reid, Karen Sharman, Barbara Bryan x 3, Lenuta Quraishi, Timothy Moon, Belinda Coleman, Murray Weir, Deon Viljeon, Michael Wolfe, Bruce Watson. All finalists images together with their associated Concept Statements may be seen under the FINALISTS tab at

The winner of the ACPP 2019 Prize and the best entry in the competition by an APS Member (which may also be the winner of the ACPP) will be announced on Thursday 4 July 2019 at the 6.30 PM AEST opening of the exhibition of the finalists’ prints at Magnet Galleries’ Melbourne Docklands Gallery. All are welcome to attend. The winner of the ACPP 2019 will be awarded $8,000 cash. The winner of the best entry by an APS Member will receive $2,000 cash. If the winner of the ACPP 2019 is an APS Member, then that entrant will receive both cash amounts – totaling $10,000. A further entry will receive a $500 voucher from Emergent Designs.

Earlier Event: April 11
Red Venice
Later Event: September 8
Still Beautiful